SZA On The Rise

The beautiful and talented singer, SZA, recently graced the 2017 BET Awards as the first lady of Top Dawg Entertainment. SZA is an upcoming African American singer from St. Louis, Missouri. The singer first made a name for herself back in 2012 when she released her first mixtape, See.SZA.Run.

In 2013, she made headlines by releasing her EP, S. Since then, SZA has grinded her way to even more success.

TDE/RCA 2017

Last month, she released her debut studio album, CtrlHer newest album, is very abstract and different from other forms of R&B. Her raspy and percussive vocals create a unique story within the lyrics.

SZA has some interesting collaborations on the album. She collaborated with Kendrick Lamar, Travis Scott, James Fauntleroy, and Isaiah Rashad.

One of my favorites include, “Love Galore” feat. Travis Scott which describes a love that was nothing more than a “summer fling” and she includes how she won’t “cry over spilled milk”, which is her way of saying that something lost is not always a loss.

You can check out the track list below:


1. Supermodel
2. Love Galore (ft. Travis Scott)
3. Doves in the Wind (ft. Kendrick Lamar)
4. Drew Barrymore
5. Prom
6. The Weekend
7. Supermodel
7. Go Gina
8. Garden (Say It Like Dat)
9. Broken Clocks
10. Anything
11. Wavy (Interlude) (ft. James Fauntleroy)
12. Normal Girl
13. Pretty Little Birds (ft. Isaiah Rashad)
14. 20 Something

Sza’s songs impact the listeners quickly and deeply and her career is just the beginning of a long journey ahead.

SZA will gearing up to head on tour at the end of the summer. You can see your dates below:

Shantel Pass; Image source